Looking

Greetings:
A man once wrote: “I write down everything I want to remember. That way, instead of spending a lot of time trying to remember what it is I wrote down, I spend a lot of time looking for the paper I wrote it down on.” (Beryl Pfizer)
I can completely relate to this quote, I’m constantly looking for notes and numbers I’ve written down so as not to forget. It’s not just numbers, its tools and various items, but most of all, reading glasses. It seems the older you get, you have less time to waste, but you spend more and more time devoted to such quest. I have piles explicitly for notes and reminders, but when I need a specific one, it’s nowhere to be found. If I do have it, I must
find my glasses to read it. If I had all the time I’ve wasted looking for things, it would be enough to retire on.
I sometimes feel like my puppy that chases his tail around the yard on a never-ending endeavor to catch it. I’m constantly fighting the memory war with myself. I keep losing because the details are so elusive along with everything else I need as well. I quit taking memory test that circulates on the Internet; they suggest I’m in need for long-term care.
I eat brain foods to increase my brain function but I can’t remember if it’s helping or not, (need to make a note of that). Did I say it was a battle, well, anyway you want slice it, remembering isn’t what it use to be; I just wish I could remember how that was.
I do remember one thing, I remember Jesus Christ, his sacrifice. I’ll never forget his promise of everlasting life. I never forget the minute, hour or day his mercy came into my life. Isn’t everything else just age taking its toll? But remembering God’s love, his commandments; well, they are the way we show God, we remember and we love him.
Leave a Reply

